About The Southern Interior Local Government Association

The Southern Interior Local Government Association is comprised of elected officials from 37 cities, towns, villages, districts and regional districts in South Central British Columbia.  Member Municipalities include:

  • City of Armstrong
  • City of Enderby
  • City of Kamloops
  • City of Kelowna
  • City of Merritt
  • City of Penticton
  • City of Revelstoke
  • City of Salmon Arm
  • City of Vernon
  • City of West Kelowna
  • Town of Oliver
  • Town of Osoyoos
  • Town of Princeton
  • Township of Spallumcheen
  • District of Barriere
  • District of Clearwater
  • District of Coldstream
  • District of Lake Country
  • District of Lillooet
  • District of Logan Lake
  • District of Peachland
  • District of Sicamous
  • District of Summerland
  • Resort Municipality of Sun Peaks
  • Village of Ashcroft
  • Village of Cache Creek
  • Village of Chase
  • Village of Clinton
  • Village of Keremeos
  • Village of Lumby
  • Village of Lytton
  • Central Okanagan Regional District
  • Columbia Shuswap Regional District
  • North Okanagan Regional District
  • Okanagan-Similkameen Regional District
  • Squamish-Lillooet Regional District
  • Thompson-Nicola Regional District

For information on each municipality including contact name, phone/fax numbers and email, click here. 

For a listing of Past Presidents of OMMA and SILGA click here.

History of Okanagan Mainline Municipal Association

Summerland Lower Town(Information provided by Paddy Duke March 10, 1987)

SILGA originated as the Okanagan Valley Mayors and Reeves Association and continued under that name until 1937. Reeve E.J. Sunderland, Coldstream, was president throughout that time.

In 1937, the association became the Okanagan Valley Municipal Association. Reeve Sunderland remained as president until 1938, when he was succeeded by Mayor O.L. Jones, Kelowna.

The B.C. Centennial was in 1958. The Annual meeting was held February 13 in Lumby, with Alderman P. Jackson, Kelowna, replacing Reeve F. Atkinson, Summerland, as president.

In 1959, at the 56th UBCM convention held in Kelowna, the O.V.M.A. hosted the annual banquet.

The O.V.M.A. executive for that year were:

  • President: Alderman C. Day, Kamloops
  • Past President: Alderman A. Jackson, Kelowna
  • Chairman: Mayor J. Pothecary, Armstrong
  • Executive Member: Vic Nancollas, Salmon Arm
  • Executive Member: P. Duke, Lumby
  • Secretary: J.C. Mehain, Kamloops                                                                                                                           Summerland Lower Town

The annual bonspiel with trophies was inaugurated by the Lumby Council, especially Alderman A. Dunn, in 1964.

In addition to the President, the 1973 executive were Mayor H. Roth, Kelowna, Mayor J. Basaan, Lillooet, Alderman D.O. Summers, Kamloops, Alderman John Kosty, Coldstream and Mayor Jack Shaw, Osoyoos who was Vice President. Mayor Ross Marks, President of U.B.C.M. was the guest speaker.

The organization was now known as the Okanagan Mainline Municipal Association. O.M.M.A. held its annual meeting in Revelstoke in 1974, the occasion of Revelstoke’s 75th anniversary – Mayor Sid Parker.

Coldstream - SpringtimeThe first annual convention of O.M.M.A. was held on May 1, 2, and 3, 1980 at Revelstoke. Attending were Mayor Tonn, Second Vice U.B.C.M., Bill King, MLA Columbia Shuswap, Mayor Bill Attelsey, Enderby, President O.M.M.A., Mayor Alastair McAskill, Revelstoke and Alderman Bill Kane, Kelowna.

A resolution was passed at the 2007 AGM of O.M.M.A. to change the name of the association to the Southern Interior Local Government Association.  The members agreed this new name would be more representative of the membership area. SILGA now has 37 members. 

In July, 2015 the SILGA executive met at South Thompson Inn to develop a strategic plan for the association.  This plan will be a living document and will be continually reviewed and adjusted to meet the needs of the SILGA membership.


Designed & Developed by Erica Lahoda Web Girl